Drones Now Banned from 12 New Locations

Drone in Flight

The Federal Aviation Administration has announced a dozen new airspace restrictions on unmanned aerial vehicles trying to fly over national security sensitive locations — and those who ignore these rules could face harsh consequences.

In unveiling the new limitations, FAA said it has been working with federal partners to address concerns about “malicious drone operations.” The dozen restricted locations were requested by the Defense Department, FAA said. They include:

  • Raven Rock Mountain Complex in Adams, Pennsylvania
  • Lake City Army Ammunition Plant in Independence, Missouri
  • Pine Bluff Arsenal in White Hall, Arkansas
  • Tooele Army Depot in Tooele, Utah
  • Hawthorne Army Depot in Hawthorne, Nevada
  • Pueblo Chemical Depot in Pueblo, Colorado
  • Iowa Army Ammunition Plant in Middletown, Iowa
  • Watervliet Arsenal in Watervliet, New York
  • Blue Grass Army Depot in Richmond, Kentucky
  • Letterkenny Army Depot in Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
  • Rivanna Station in Charlottesville, Virginia
  • Maui Space Surveillance Site in Maui, Hawaii

These restrictions became effective July 11, 2019. FAA said operators who violate them “may be subject to enforcement action, including potential civil penalties and criminal charges. The agency said it will continue to review additional requests for drone-specific flight restrictions 


Content Goes Here